

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT:

Molly Poisant, Executive Director Phone: +1 804 836 7125 Email: molly.poisant@impi.org

Aguilar-Garib Inducted as Fellow; Voting Board and Executive Board Members Elected at IMPI Meeting

June 28, 2019 – The International Microwave Power Institute (IMPI), the leading global scientific organization dedicated to non-communication microwave and RF energy applications, is pleased to announce three major developments out of their annual General Membership Meeting last week in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA.

Dr. Juan Aguilar-Garib of the Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León was inducted as the 35th Fellow of the Institute during IMPI's June 19th General Membership Meeting. Aguilar-Garib has been an active member of IMPI since 1996 and has served as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Microwave Power and Electromagnetic Energy since 2010.

Dr. John M. Osepchuk, IMPI Fellow and the referee for Aguilar-Garib's nomination stated, "It is my privilege to support the nomination to IMPI Fellow of Dr. Juan Aguilar. In the last decade he has maintained the quality of the journal, JMPEE, and increased its international visibility (downloads). He has supported the continuing program for expansion along with quality maintenance led by long-time leader, Bob Schiffman. We look forward to many more years of contributions to IMPI from Dr. Aguilar."

IMPI President, Bob Schiffmann added, "By designating Dr. Juan Aguilar-Garib as a Fellow of IMPI, it bestows upon him its highest honor in recognition of his outstanding contributions as the Editor-in-Chief of the JMPEE. We are all very proud of the very high technical and professional standards he has maintained with the Journal."

During the General Membership Meeting, members elected four Voting Board Members for a 3year term. Dr. Ulrich Erle of Nestle R&D was re-elected to the Board. Mr. Eric Brown of Conagra Brands (USA), Mr. Jerome Czajkowski of Muegge-Gerling (Germany/USA) and Dr. Klaus Werner of pinkRF (Netherlands) were all elected to the Voting Board, following their service as Corresponding Board Members. The newly elected Board of Governors met after the General Membership Meeting to elect their Executive Board. Mr. Bob Schiffmann was re-elected President. Mr. Mark Watts of Campbell Soup Company will serve as Vice President and Mr. John Mastela of PrecisePower will serve as Secretary. Mr. John F. Gerling of Gerling Consulting was re-elected Treasurer. The Executive Board term is one-year.

"I am honored to accept the position of Vice President of IMPI, and look forward to working with all the entrepreneurs, innovators and educators in driving the advancement of electromagnetic wave technology in all its formats," Watts stated.

Schiffmann shared, "As we enter our 54th year as the leading scientific organization focused upon microwave power and its many applications, we look forward to continuing growth in membership and the support of industry and academia. With the advent of solid-state technology and the numerous application opportunities it presents, we see a bright future in many areas, and hope to capture these as part of our ongoing growth."

For more information on IMPI, visit <u>www.impi.org</u>



Top Left: Bob Schiffmann and Juan Aguilar; Top right: IMPI Board of Governors and Staff, Bottom: IMPI Executive Board