

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

**CONTACT:** Molly Poisant, Executive Director, IMPI (E): molly.poisant@impi.org; (M) +1 804 836 7125

## Dr. Ulrich Erle Inducted as Fellow of IMPI; Voting Board Members and Executive Board Elected at Annual General Membership Meeting

**July 7, 2023** - The International Microwave Power Institute (IMPI), the leading scientific organization dedicated to connecting the global microwave and RF energy community, is pleased to announce several major developments out of their Annual General Membership Meeting last week in Denver, Colorado, USA. The meeting was held at the Curtis Hotel, in conjunction with the Institute's 57<sup>th</sup> Annual Microwave Power Symposium (IMPI 57).

Dr. Ulrich Erle of Nestle R&D in Solon, Ohio was inducted as the 37<sup>th</sup> Fellow of the Institute on June 28<sup>th</sup>. Erle attended his first IMPI Symposium in Denver during the summer of 1995. He became an active member in 2009, has served as a Voting Member of the Board of Governors since 2016, was Co-chair of the IMPI 49 and IMPI 50 Symposia, and has routinely served as a Session Chair, Technical Program Committee Member, Student Competition Judge and Fall Seminar Planning Committee Member. The Fellow Nominating Committee, chaired by IMPI Fellows, Dr. Juan Aguilar of the University of Nuevo Leon and Dr. Juming Tang of Washington State University, nominated Erle following an extensive review process.

When presenting the nomination to the Board, Tang and Aguilar stated, "This recommendation recognizes Dr. Erle's leadership and contributions to IMPI [outlined above]... We also recognize his contributions in advancing microwave heating knowledge (through publications of books and journal articles) and practices (through patent inventions) in the food industry, and his active mentorship of young engineers working on projects related to microwave heating."

Letters of recommendation, provided by Dr. Klaus Werner, Chairman of IMPI's Solid State RF Energy Section and President of pinkRF, and Dr. Raymond L. Boxman, Professor Emeritus of Tel Aviv University, cited Erle's contributions to the field over the past twenty years, which include over 16 patents. The letters describe Erle as someone who is a "genuine, open and curious scientist with an enormous amount of relevant knowledge and true attention to detail." Dr. Erle, is "very active and an extremely competent contributor to the organization and management of IMPI activities," and that he has, "clearly demonstrated leadership, innovation and creativity in

*this field.*" The Board of Governors was unanimous in their decision to bestow the Institute's highest honor to Erle.

The IMPI membership also elected four Voting Board Members. Mr. Benjamin Ballart of SAIREM, who previously served as a Corresponding Board Member, will join the Voting Board alongside newly re-elected Voting Board Members: Dr. Sean McKeown of Graphic Packaging International, Mr. John F. Gerling of Gerling Consulting, and Mr. Roger Williams of 3DRFE Corp. Voting Board Members serve a three-year term. The full Board of Governors list can be <u>found here</u>.

Following the Annual General Membership Meeting, the Board met to elect their leadership for the coming year. The Executive Board was re-elected for another one-year term as follows: John F. Gerling as President, Mr. John Mastela of EliteRF as Vice President, Mr. Brian Blackwell of Odyssey Technical Solutions as Treasurer and Dr. Sean McKeown of Graphic Packaging International will return as the Secretary of IMPI.



Dr. Ulrich Erle (2<sup>nd</sup> from left), inducted as an IMPI Fellow, receives a plaque from three current Fellows: Dr. Juming Tang and Dr. Juan Aguilar (Co-Chairs of IMPI Fellow Committee) and Mr. John F. Gerling (IMPI President)



IMPI Board Members following the June 28th Board Meeting.